natural health mama

A natural approach for good health – for Mama & baby

Beetroot, Black Grape & Black Bean Curry, Served with Kamut – An Original Recipe by Natural Health Mama

Leave a comment

dscf4313dscf4317dscf4318

I adore curries – there’s so many flavour, texture and colour options, and you can use all kinds of vegetables/fruit that you don’t know what else to do with!  I had a huge bunch of black grapes I wasn’t sure how to use before they past their best, so I put on my thinking cap.  After a while I realised that grapes aren’t so different to tomatoes really, and so I wondered could I make a curry with them?  And the answer is a resounding YES!  Grapes are good for curries y’all – I can now confirm this!  Obviously grapes are pretty high in natural sugars so you wouldn’t want to be eating grape curries all the time, but as an occasional meal there’s no problems at all.

Curries are also a fantastic way to get vegetables into children, well, as long as they enjoy spicy food that is!  Luckily my 22-month-old likes nothing more than a mouthful of something spicy, so he is in no way lacking good vegetable nutrition.  You can use things your children wouldn’t normally eat, such as sprouts, kale, turnip, whatever, and they would never even know.  I had a broccoli stalk and a couple of halves of peppers I wanted to use up, and so I just minced them up along with the other veg.  No need to waste valuable veggies!

Ingredients:

200g red lentils

200g beetroot

200g carrots

1/2 red pepper

1/2 yellow pepper

Broccoli stalk

2 red onions

1 bulb garlic

400g black grapes

200ml water

400ml coconut milk

Handful fresh cilantro or 1 tblsp dried cilantro leaf

2 tsp salt

1 tblsp black pepper

1 tblsp cumin

1 tblsp cayenne pepper

1 tblsp paprika

1 tsp garam masala

1 tblsp curry powder

400g can of black beans

Method:

In a saucepan cover the lentils with cold water, bring to the boil, and let simmer for 15 minutes until softened.  Drain and set aside.

dscf5597dscf5606

Peel and roughly dice the beetroot, carrots, peppers, broccoli stalk, onions and garlic, then mince them all in a food processor.

dscf4226dscf4228

Heat 1 tblsp of coconut oil in a large frying pan and add the minced vegetables.  Saute for 10 minutes until the veg has softened.

dscf4231

Remove the pits from the larger grapes (unless they have already been pitted), and put into a blender with 200ml water.

dscf4237dscf4238dscf4240

Add the grapes and lentils to the frying pan and mix in.  I love watching the red colour become more intense with every stir!

dscf4245dscf4232dscf4243

Add the herbs & spices and the coconut milk, and let simmer for 20-30 minutes until reduced to a nice thickness.

dscf4248

Rinse the black beans and add to the curry, and continue to heat for a further 10 minutes.  (Ensure the beans are piping hot before serving).

dscf4253dscf4260

Serve with the grain of your choice… I used kamut and it worked beautifully alongside the curry.

dscf4316dscf4315

Another evening I served it with brown basmati rice cooked with turmeric, and so made the meal really striking!

dscf4264dscf4271

For healthy vegetarian, sugar-free, additive-free recipes for  meals and snacks, and the Steemit Culinary Challenge, please follow me!

Many thanks.

I have shared this recipe on Steemit at: https://steemit.com/food/@woman-onthe-wing/beetroot-black-grape-and-black-bean-curry-served-with-kamut-an-original-recipe-vegetarian

For extra tips on health for you and your family, can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma

and follow me on Steemit at: https://steemit.com/@woman-onthe-wing

All photos in this post are my own original, taken with my Fujifilm Finepix S8200.

Leave a Reply

