natural health mama

A natural approach for good health – for Mama & baby

Picnic Alfresco In The Forest… In The Rain! (Donegal, Ireland) by Natural Health Mama

Leave a comment

dscf3739

Last week’s Steemit Culinary Challenge theme inspired me to have my own ‘picnic alfresco’, and despite the rain we had a wonderful time!  Since my wee man isn’t yet 2 I cook and bake all his food from scratch so I know exactly what’s going into his body.  For this picnic I made a selection of different savoury and sweet items, all made with natural organic ingredients suitable for little ‘uns:

– Mini khorasan soda farles

– Aduki falafels

– Salad skewers

– Curly potato crisps/chips

– Potato and red onion salad

– Pecan & date gingerbread men (no sugar)

– Cinnamon cookies (no sugar)

I will be sharing my recipes for these things in due course… I figured it’d make the post ridiculously long if I included all the food preparation too.  So for now I hope you enjoy viewing my picnic photos.  I live on the edge of Ards Forest in County Donegal, Ireland, and so picnics are a common occurrence for me, my husband and son Sky.  I had been hoping for a sunny day, but Donegal is a decidedly damp county and overcast drizzly grey skies are more the norm than summery days, even in summer.  Oh well!  Armed with a brolly and booted with wellies we found a good sheltered spot beneath the forest canopy, and so even though the drizzle continued we remained fairly dry 🙂  Well, until the heavens opened that is and we had to make a mad dash for home!  I got a few photos of the torrential rain, you can see at the end.  Thank goodness for umbrellas!

dscf3762dscf3728dscf1982  pict4307dscf3882dscf3757dscf3863dscf3725dscf3885dscf3792  dscf3815dscf3846  dscf3848dscf3865dscf3711dscf3720dscf3712dscf3713dscf3716dscf3722dscf3719dscf3717dscf3709dscf3734dscf4143dscf3894dscf3735dscf3738  dscf3805dscf3868  dscf3853dscf3758dscf3857dscf3721dscf3753  dscf3892dscf3744dscf3890dscf3898dscf3766dscf3764dscf3771

After a couple months of this kind of weather I think we’re due some sunshine, because when you live beside a forest you’re practically obliged to be wild, and never too old to be swinging from trees! Or maybe that’s just me 🙂

dscf2557  dscf2547

 

For healthy vegetarian, sugar-free, additive-free recipes for meals and snacks, please follow me!
Many thanks.

 

I have shared this post on Steemit at: https://steemit.com/food/@woman-onthe-wing/picnic-alfresco-in-the-forest-in-the-rain-donegal-ireland

 

For extra tips on health for you and your family, can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma

 

and follow me on Steemit at: https://steemit.com/@woman-onthe-wing
All photos in this post are my own original, taken with my Fujifilm Finepix S8200.

Leave a Reply

